Chancellor awarded AO

The University of Divinity would like to congratulate the Chancellor, Dr Graeme Leslie Blackman, whose outstanding contribution to theological education has been recognised with an AO in the Australia Day honours 2017.

Dr Blackman has been awarded an Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to the pharmaceutical industry, to scientific research and policy development, to theological education and the Anglican Church of Australia, and to aged care.

Service includes:
Chair and Non-Executive Director, National Stem Cell Foundation of Australia, since 2012.

Board Member and Deputy Chairman, Australian Stem Cell Centre, 2009-2012.

Director, Medicines Australia (formerly Australian Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association), 1995-2013 and Deputy Chairman, 1998-2000 and Honorary Life Member, 2013. Director and Founder, IDT Australia Ltd (formerly Institute of Drug Technology Australia Ltd), since 1986 and Chairman, 1986-2013.

Ecclesiastical Institutions:
Inaugural Chancellor, University of Divinity (formerly Melbourne College of Divinity), since 2012 and Chairman, Governance and Nominations Committee and Strategy Planning Committee, since 2012 and Member, Council, since 2015 and Member, Governing Body, since 1989.

Member, Management Committee, Theological School, Trinity College, University of Melbourne, 1995-2014 and Board Member, 2004-2012 and Chairman, Trinity College Foundation, 2008-2012.
Member, Council, Anglican Diocese of Melbourne, since 1991 and Member, Provincial Council Victoria, current and Director, Melbourne Anglican Diocese Corporation, current.

Lay Canon, St Paul’s Cathedral, 1995-2015 and Member, Finance Committee, since 2008.

Aged Care:
Federal Chairman, Leading Age Services Australia, since 2014.
Board Member, Benetas (Anglican Aged Care Group), 2011-2014.
Board Member, Anglicare Victoria, 1998-2009 and Deputy Chairman, 1998-1999 and Chairman, 1999-2009.

Trustee, Flora and Frank Leith Trust, since 1997 and Member, Grants Committee, since 1994.
Trustee, Andrews Foundation, 2006-2015.
Chairman, Victoria’s Heritage Restoration Fund, 2013-2015.
Chairman, Melbourne Heritage Restoration Fund, 2008-2013.
Chairman, National Trust of Australia (Victoria), 2006-2015.
Chairman, National Trust of Victoria Foundation, 2014-2015.
Director, Australian Council of National Trusts, 2007-2015 and Chairman, 2008-2012. Trustee, Johnston Collection of Fine and Decorative Arts, since 2008.

Director, Australian Youth Orchestra, since 2012 and Member, Finance and Executive Committee, current.
Member of Council, Melbourne Grammar School, 1996-2005 and Deputy Chairman, 1998-2005.

Awards and recognition includes:
Recipient, Centenary Medal ‘for service in providing leadership in the pharmaceutical industry’, 2003.
Australia Day 2017

About VOX

VOX brings members of the University, especially academic staff, into conversation with churches, the community and you. It publishes original material and may republish or link to items from blogs, social media and news media.