GAZETTE

Date:30 May 2025Issued by:Hannah Hornsby, University Secretary



This Gazette is a public document and is circulated to members of the Council, members of Academic Board, the University Executive, and University staff. It reports the outcomes of meetings of the University Council and Academic Board since the last Gazette was issued. View past issues of the Gazette.

Summary of key activities

- **A.** 35 students receiving 35 awards graduated from the University at the Brisbane graduation ceremony, held at St John's Cathedral on 30 May.
- **B.** The Doctor of Divinity (honoris causa) was awarded to Reverend Canon Dr Gregory Jenks at the Brisbane graduation ceremony on 30 May 2025. Dr Jenks also gave the graduation address.
- **C.** The University's 2024 Annual Report was tabled in the Parliament of Victoria on 13 May 2025.
- **D.** Upcoming Graduation Ceremonies:

Adelaide: Thursday 12 February 2026 Melbourne: Friday 20 March 2026

1. Regulations and Schedules

Regulations are available on the University website at

http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/governance/the-act-and-regulations/

1.1 On 9 April 2025 the Council approved the following Regulations and Schedules to Regulations

N/A

1.2 On 14 May the Council approved the following Regulations and Schedules to Regulations

1.2.1 *Regulation 2 Academic Board:* Membership updated at 2.3.1(d) to remove the defunct role of University Librarian and allow the Library Committee to elect a representative to the Academic Board.

1.3 On 15 April 2025 the Academic Board approved the following Schedules to Regulations

- 1.3.1 *Regulation 2 Academic Board:* Schedule 3 (Library Committee) membership updated to replace University Librarian with Library Hub Manager, Terms of Reference adjusted.
- 1.3.2 *Regulation 11 Awards, Courses and Units:* Modification to Course Records for Bachelor of Ministry and Bachelor of Theology. Credit section updated to clarify the definition of an undergraduate degree.

2. Policies and Procedures

Policies and Procedures are available on the University website at

http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/governance/policies-and-procedures/

2.1 On 9 April 2025 the Council approved the following Policies and Procedures

N/A

2.2 On 15 May 2025 the Council approved the following Policies and Procedures

- 2.2.1 *University Employment Policy:* Cyclical review, minor procedural changes.
- 2.3 On 15 April 2025 the Academic Board approved the following Policies and Procedures

3. Academic Appointments and Accreditations

- 3.1 Dr Birute Arendarickas, of Catholic Theological College, has been classified as Senior Lecturer (Level C).
- 3.2 Ms Dorothy Brinkmann has been accredited through Australian Lutheran College to deliver the unit DE3012L The Practice of Lutheran Education.
- 3.3 The Reverend Zoe Browne has been accredited through St Francis College to deliver units in Biblical Studies at Level 3.
- 3.4 Associate Professor Stephen Hultgren, of Australian Lutheran College, has been promoted to Associate Professor (Level D).
- 3.5 Associate Professor Mark Jennings, of Wollaston Theological College, has been promoted to Associate Professor (Level D).
- 3.6 The Reverend Dr Daniel Mueller has been accredited through Australian Lutheran College to deliver the unit CT2010L / CT3010L / CT9086L Creation and Redemption.
- 3.7 Dr Anna Nürnberger has been accredited through Australian Lutheran College to deliver the unit CO1001Z Expressing Integrity in Academic and Professional Communication.
- 3.8 Mr Jim Schirmer has been accredited through Australian Lutheran College to deliver units in Counselling at Level 3.
- 3.9 The Reverend Dr Timothy Stringer has been accredited through Australian Lutheran College to deliver units in Systematic Theology at Postgraduate Elective level.
- 3.10 The Reverend James Winderlich has been accredited through Australian Lutheran College to deliver the unit DS8096L / CT8021L / CT3021L Christian Spirituality: A Lutheran Perspective.

4. Governance and Other Appointments

4.1 Ms Cindy Derrenbacker was elected by the Library Committee as the Library Committee representative on the Academic Board, in Accordance with 2.3.1(d) of Regulation 2 Academic Board, for a term concluding 31 December 2026.

- 4.2 Dr Rosemary Dewerse was appointed by the Academic Board as a member of the Partnership for Professional Practice Awards Academic Committee for a term commencing immediately and concluding 31 December 2027, in accordance with Schedule 10.1.5(a) to Regulation 2.
- 4.2 The Reverend Lauren Mosso was appointed by the Academic Board as a member of the Partnership for Professional Practice Awards Academic Committee for a term commencing immediately and concluding 31 December 2026, in accordance with Schedule 10.1.6(a) to Regulation 2.
- 4.2 Ms Heather Sommerville was appointed by the Academic Board as a member of the Partnership for Professional Practice Awards Academic Committee for a term commencing immediately and concluding 31 December 2027, in accordance with Schedule 10.1.5(b) to Regulation 2.
- 4.2 The Reverend Dr Simon Wayte was appointed by the Academic Board as a member of the Partnership for Professional Practice Awards Academic Committee for a term commencing immediately and concluding 31 December 2027, in accordance with Schedule 10.1.5(a) to Regulation 2.
- 4.2 The Reverend Meewon Yang OAM was appointed by the Academic Board as a member of the Partnership for Professional Practice Awards Academic Committee for a term commencing immediately and concluding 31 December 2027, in accordance with Schedule 10.1.5(b) to Regulation 2.

5. Other Matters

5.2 The next edition of the Gazette will be published within six weeks of the Academic Board meeting on 3 June 2025.