GAZETTE

Date: 5 Jun 2024

Issued by: Hannah Hornsby, University Secretary



This Gazette is a public document and is circulated to members of the Council, members of Academic Board, the University Executive, and University staff. It reports the outcomes of meetings of the University Council and Academic Board since the last Gazette was issued. View past issues of the Gazette

Summary of key activities

- **A.** Professor James McLaren commenced in the role of Vice-Chancellor of the University of Divinity on 29 April 2024.
- B. The Doctor of Divinity (honoris causa) was conferred on Archbishop Kay Goldsworthy AO during the Perth Graduation Ceremony on 14 April.
- **C.** 20 students receiving 20 awards graduated from the University at the Perth graduation ceremony, held at St George's Cathedral on 14 April. Archbishop Kay Goldsworthy gave the graduation address.
- **D.** 32 students receiving 32 awards graduated from the University at the Brisbane graduation ceremony, held at St John's Cathedral on 19 May. Archbishop Emeritus Philip Aspinall gave the graduation address.
- **E.** Upcoming graduation dates are as follows:

Adelaide: Thursday 13 Feb 2025

Melbourne: Friday 21 Mar 2025

F. The 2023 Financial Statements and Annual Report were tabled in the Parliament of Victoria on 1 May 2024.

1. Regulations and Schedules

Regulations are available on the University website at

http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/governance/the-act-and-regulations/

- 1.1 On 19 April 2024 the Academic Board approved the following Schedules to Regulations
- 1.1.1 Course Records Doctor of Philosophy and Master of Philosophy: New Course Records approved, governed by Regulation 11 Awards, Courses and Units, and the Higher Degree by Research Policy.
- 1.1.2 *Regulation 2 Academic Board:* Schedule 8 Approved (Terms of Reference for Discipline Groups).

2. Policies and Procedures

Policies and Procedures are available on the University website at

http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/governance/policies-and-procedures/

Gazette 5 Jun 2024 Page 1 of 3

- 2.1 On 19 April 2024 the Academic Board approved the following Policies and Procedures
- 2.1.1 *Higher Degree by Research Policy:* New policy, combining elements of existing policies and regulations to provide comprehensive coverage of all HDR matters.
- 2.1.2 Supervisor Policy and Research Scholarships Policy: Repealed. Incorporated into Higher Degree by Research Policy.
- 2.1.3 Enrolment Policy: amended to remove sections 3.1c) and d) (HDR full-time study load) and sections 6.6d) and 6.10 (HDR deferrals) incorporated into Higher Degree by Research Policy.
- 2.1.4 Admissions Policy: Schedule A amended to remove section 4 (English language requirements for HDR applicants) incorporated into Higher Degree by Research Policy.

3. Academic Appointments and Accreditations

- 3.1 Reverend Craig Bailey has been accredited through UCLT to teach LE2741Z Theology and Leadership and LE9741Z Theology and Leadership
- 3.2 Reverend Dr Bruce Duncan has been accredited through Yarra Theological Union to be appointed as Honorary Research Associate until 9 March 2027.
- 3.3 Dr Tom Edwards was classified as Lecturer (Level B) by the Vice-Chancellor, in accordance with Regulation 8 Members of the University and the Academic Staff Policy
- 3.4 Reverend Scott Litchfield has been accredited through UCLT to teach CT3747Z Community Ministry: Theology, History, Contemporary Praxis CT9747Z Community Ministry: Theology, History, Contemporary Praxis.
- 3.5 Dr Jonathan Lo has been accredited through Yarra Theological Union to be appointed as Honorary Postdoctoral Associate until 9 March 2027.
- 3.6 Associate Professor Robert Myles was appointed as Associate Professor (Level D) by the Vice-Chancellor, in accordance with Regulation 8 Members of the University and the Academic Staff Policy.
- 3.7 Reverend Dr Steven Ogden was classified as Senior Lecturer (Level C) by the Vice Chancellor, in accordance with Regulation 8 Members of the University and the Academic Staff Policy
- 3.8 Dr Paul Smyth has been accredited through Yarra Theological Union to be appointed as Honorary Research Associate until 9 March 2027.
- 3.9 Reverend Julie Worrall has been accredited through St Barnabas College to teach DA1321Z Being Anglican.
- 3.10 Dr Enqi Weng has been accredited through Whitley College to be appointed as Honorary Research Associate until 21 February 2027.

4. Governance and Other Appointments

4.1 Reverend Professor Stephen Burns was appointed to the Academic Promotions Committee for a term commencing immediately and concluding 31 December 2026, in accordance with Schedule 1.1.2 of Regulation 2 Academic Board.

Gazette 5 Jun 2024 Page 2 of 3

- 4.2 Sr Donna Ferrer was appointed as a member of the Student Services Committee, for a term commencing 31 May 2024 and concluding 31 Dec 2025, in accordance with Schedule 7.1.3 of Regulation 2 Academic Board.
- 4.3 Sr Emma Llewellyn was appointed as a member of the Student Services Committee, for a term commencing 31 May 2024 and concluding 31 Dec 2025, in accordance with Schedule 7.1.3 of Regulation 2 Academic Board.
- 4.4 Dr Merryn Ruwoldt was appointed as Deputy Chair of the Academic Board for a term commencing 1 March 2024 and concluding 31 December 2026, in accordance with 2.3.2 of Regulation 2 Academic Board.

5. Other Matters

- 5.1 Megan Cassidy-Welch commenced as Dean of Research Strategy on 10 April 2024
- 5.2 Daniel Monk concluded as Accountant in the Office of the Vice-Chancellor on 30 April 2024.
- 5.3 Patricia Tan commenced as Accountant in the Office of the Vice-Chancellor on 3 April 2024.
- The next edition of the Gazette will be published within six weeks of the Academic Board meeting on 7 June 2024.

Gazette 5 Jun 2024 Page 3 of 3