#### **GAZETTE**

Date: 18 May 2022

Issued by: Anjali Antoniotti, Chief of Staff and University Secretary



This Gazette is a public document and is circulated to members of the Council, members of Academic Board, the University Executive, and University staff. It reports the outcomes of meetings of the University Council and Academic Board since the last Gazette was issued. View past issues of the Gazette

### Summary of key activities

- A. The University of Divinity's Annual Report for 2021 was tabled in the Victorian Parliament by The Hon. Gayle Tierney MP, Minister for Higher Education and Minister for Training and Skills, on 3 May 2022.
- **B.** Council has awarded the University's Distinguished Service Medal to Mrs Janette Bredenoord-Elliott, in recognition of her 12 years of exemplary service as Registrar of Yarra Theological Union.
- 1. Regulations and Schedules

Regulations are available on the University website at

http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/governance/the-act-and-regulations/

- **1.1** On 13 April 2022 the Council approved the following Regulations and Schedules to Regulations
- 1.1.1 Regulation 44 Funds Governance: Fund Record 11 (Building Fund) added.
- 1.2 On 22 April 2022 the Academic Board approved the following Schedules to Regulations
- 1.2.1 Schedule 8.1 to *Regulation 2 Academic Board*: School of Graduate Research Committee membership revised to remove Chair of Examiners.
- 1.2.2 Schedule to *Regulation 22 Doctor of Philosophy:* Section 22.3.4 amended to remove the requirement for submission of bound copies of theses, and allow for electronic submission only.
- 1.2.3 Schedule to *Regulation 38 Master of Philosophy:* Section 38.3.4 amended to remove the requirement for submission of bound copies of theses, and allow for electronic submission only.
- 1.2.4 Schedule to *Regulation 43 Graduate Certificate in Leadership:* Section 43.2.4 amended to remove the program 'Leadership, Spirituality and Organised Practice' (comprised of units offered solely by the former Jesuit College of Spirituality).

#### 2. Policies and Procedures

Policies and Procedures are available on the University website at

http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/governance/policies-and-procedures/

Gazette 18 May 2022 Page 1 of 3

- 2.1 On 13 April 2022 the Council approved the following Policies and Procedures:
- 2.1.1 *Investment Policy:* amended to reflect changes to Building Fund structure and treatment.
- 2.2 On 22 April 2022 the Academic Board approved the following Policies and Procedures:
- 2.2.1 Student Services Policy: Reference to the Annual Student Survey added at 5.4(a).
- 2.2.2 *Academic Staff Policy:* Section 4.3 rewritten to reflect revised Research Active Benchmarks.

## 3. Academic Appointments and Accreditations

- 3.1 Dr John Andersen has been accredited through Stirling College to deliver units in the discipline of Professional Counselling (DZ) at all levels.
- 3.2 Mrs Rosanne Arnott has been accredited through Yarra Theological Union to deliver the following units: DD8202W Art of Spiritual Companioning 1; DD8203W Art of Spiritual Companioning 2; DD9204W Art of Spiritual Companioning 3; DS9201W Art of Contemplative Practice 1; DS9202W Art of Contemplative Practice 2; DS9030W Spiritual Formation: Shaping the teachers and leaders of tomorrow.
- 3.3 Dr Thomas Edwards has been accredited through Stirling College to deliver units in the discipline of Professional Counselling (DZ) at all levels; has been appointed as supervisor of higher degree by research theses; and, has been appointed as an Honorary Research Associate until 25 February 2025.
- 3.4 Associate Professor Rachelle Gilmour has been appointed by the Vice-Chancellor as an Associate Professor (Level D) of the University on the recommendation of the Academic Promotions Committee.
- 3.4 Dr Denise Goodwin has been accredited through Catholic Theological College to deliver the following units: DR8600C Introduction to the Principles and Practice of Religious Education; and DR9260C/DS9260C/CT9260C Children's Spirituality and the Experience of War-Affected Children.
- 3.5 Associate Professor Jason Goroncy has been appointed by the Vice-Chancellor as an Associate Professor (Level D) of the University on the recommendation of the Academic Promotions Committee.
- 3.6 Ms Melissa Hayde has been classified as Lecturer (Level B), and accredited through Stirling College to deliver the unit DP1930S Academic Research and Writing.
- 3.7 Dr Scott Kirkland has been appointed as Senior Lecturer (Level C).
- 3.8 Mr Danny Krivan has been accredited to deliver the unit DP8011M Foundations of Professional Supervision.
- 3.9 Dr Penny Martin has been classified as Lecturer (Level B), and accredited through Stirling College to deliver the units in Pastoral Theology and Ministry Studies (DP), Religious Education (DR) and Mission and Ministry (DA) at all levels.
- 3.10 Ms Anne Pate has been accredited to deliver the unit DP8011M Foundations of Professional Supervision.

Gazette 18 May 2022 Page 2 of 3

- 3.11 Ms Clare Shearman has been accredited through Yarra Theological Union to deliver units in Spiritual Direction (DD) at postgraduate elective level.
- Rev Dr Joseph Vnuk has been accredited through Catholic Theological College to deliver units in the discipline of Systematic Theology (CT) at all levels.
- 3.13 Rev Associate Professor Robyn Whitaker has been appointed by the Vice-Chancellor as an Associate Professor (Level D) of the University on the recommendation of the Academic Promotions Committee.

# 4. Governance and Other Appointments

4.1 Dr Robyn Whitaker has been appointed as Deputy Chair of the School of Graduate Research Committee for a term of three years, commencing 23 April 2022 and concluding 31 December 2024, in accordance with Schedule 5.2 of Regulation 2.

### 5. Other Matters

The next edition of the Gazette will be published within six weeks of the Academic Board meeting on Friday 3 June 2022.

Gazette 18 May 2022 Page 3 of 3