GAZETTE

Date: 8 June 2017
Issued by: Anjali Antoniotti

University Secretary



This Gazette is a public document and is circulated to members of Council, members of Academic Board, Heads of Colleges, and Office of the Vice-Chancellor (OVC) Staff. It reports the outcomes of meetings of the University Council and Academic Board since the last Gazette was issued.

Summary of key activities

- A. The Council approved the 2018 Tuition Fee Schedule.

 https://www.divinity.edu.au/wp-content/uploads/2013/11/University-of-Divinity-Fees-2018.pdf
- **B.** The Council appointed Stephen Burns (Trinity College Theological School) as a Professor of the University of Divinity on 7 June 2017.
- 1. Regulations and Determinations

The Regulations are available at

http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/governance/the-act-and-regulations/

- 1.1 The Council approved amendments to Regulation 1.8.3 to assign new colours for the Doctor of Divinity robes.
- 1.2 The Academic Board approved removal of provisions in the Determinations to Regulation 2 governing leave of absence, with the provisions transferred to the Enrolment Policy.
- 2. Policies and Procedures

Policies and Procedures may be located on the University website at

http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/governance/policies-and-procedures/

- 2.1 Council approved the Risk Management Policy. This policy governs risk management activity and supports Council in overseeing and monitoring the assessment and management of risk across the University.
- 2.2 Council approved amendments to the Investment Policy, Schedule 2 to apply a single set of principles to both the Government Scholarship Reserve Fund and General Reserve Fund.
- 2.3 The Academic Board approved amendments to the Course Policy to add a new section regulating the professional accreditation of awards of the University.
- 2.4 The Academic Board approved amendments to the Enrolment Policy to align all provisions regarding Leave of Absence in a single policy, and to provide procedures for the approval of course variation or course extension to support students in exceptional circumstances.

Gazette June 2017 Page 1 of 4

3. Academic Staff

- 3.1 Gina Bernasconi was appointed an Honorary Research Associate from 1 January 2017 to 31 December 2019 in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 6.6.
- 3.2 Stephen Burns was appointed a Professor of the University by the Council on 7 June 2017 in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 9.6.5.

Citation: Professor Stephen Burns is an internationally recognised expert in liturgical and contextual theologies with an outstanding record as a teacher at Universities on three continents. He is author, editor and co-author of seventeen books and over thirty other articles ranging from liturgical renewal and ministerial formation to theologies of advocacy including postcolonial, feminist and queer perspectives. A member of the North American Academy of Liturgy and the Australian Academy of Liturgy, Professor Burns has shown leadership in the academy in promoting liturgical scholarship. He has been an outstanding practitioner in the engagement and integration of theology in the liturgy and ministry of the Church across an exceptionally wide range of traditions and contexts.

- John Collins was appointed an Honorary Research Associate from 1 January 2017 to 31 December 2019 in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 6.6.
- 3.4 Adam Couchman was accredited to deliver units in Systematic Theology and Liturgy to Postgraduate Foundational level in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 6.4.2.
- Peter Dobson was classified as a Lecturer (Level B) in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 9.6.2.
- 3.6 Sally Douglas was accredited to deliver units in the disciplines of New Testament and Biblical Studies at all levels in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 6.4.1d.
- 3.7 Bishop Jeffrey Driver was appointed Honorary Research Associate from 1 January 2017 to 31 December 2019 in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 6.6.
- 3.8 John Dupuche was promoted to Associate Professor (Level D) in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 9.6.4.
- 3.9 Darrell Jackson was promoted to Associate Professor (Level D) in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 9.6.4.
- 3.10 Terry Le Blanc was accredited to deliver the unit CT8002W Indigenous Theologies and Methods at Postgraduate Foundational level in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 6.4.1c.
- 3.11 John McNeill was accredited to deliver the unit DA8002W Indigenous Theology Symposium at Postgraduate Foundational level in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 6.4.1c.

Gazette June 2017 Page 2 of 4

- Fraser Pearce was accredited to deliver the unit DS3020L Spirituality in accordance with Academic Staff Policy section 6.4.2.
- 3.13 Michael Salib was accredited to deliver the unit DR2710A/DR2719A Learning and Teaching for Religious Education at Undergraduate level in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 6.4.2.
- 3.14 Bishop Anba Suriel was promoted to Associate Professor (Level D) in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 9.6.4.
- 3.15 Nebojsa Tumara was classified as a Senior Lecturer (Level C) in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 9.6.3.
- 3.16 Bishop Lindsay Urwin was accredited to deliver units in the discipline of Mission and Ministry at undergraduate level 1, and the unit DL2100T Preaching for Worship and Mission at Undergraduate level 2 in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 6.4.2.
- 3.17 Simon Wayte was appointed as Lecturer (Level B) in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 9.6.2 and accredited to deliver in the discipline of Systematic Theology at all levels in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 6.4.1d.
- 3.18 Wing Yin Yau was appointed as Lecturer (Level B) in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 9.6.2 and accredited to deliver the following units in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 6.4.2:

 DD8981J/DD8982J Spiritual Exercises Theory

DD8991J/DD8992J Spiritual Exercises Practice DS9101J My Experience of the Spiritual Exercises

DD911J Discernment and Election in the Spiritual Exercises

DD9127J Ignatian Retreat Direction

3.19 Danny Zacharias was accredited to deliver the unit BN8002W Introduction to the New Testament Narrative at Postgraduate Foundational level in accordance with the Academic Staff Policy section 6.4.1c.

4. Other Appointments

- 4.1 The Academic Board appointed the Reverend Associate Professor Frank Rees as Patron of the Graduate Certificate in Theological Education.
- 4.2 The following persons were appointed as members of the Library Committee for a term of three years ending 31 December 2019 in accordance with the revised constitution of the Committee described in Determination 5, Regulation 2: Kerrie Burn, Susan Clarke, Stephen Connelly, Deborah Decru, Siobhan Foster, Miranda Fyfield, Philip Harvey, Shaun Lancaster, Tony McCumstie, Lorraine Mitchell, Antonella Newnham, Gale Watt, Cal Ledsham, Huw Sandaver, Iain Radvan.
- 4.3 Lisa Agaiby was appointed as Research Coordinator for St Athanasius College and as a member of the Research Committee for a term one year concluding 31 December 2017.

5. Other Matters

Gazette June 2017 Page 3 of 4

- 5.1 The Council approved the 2018 Tuition Fees Schedule.
- The Council has approved the text of an Agreement between the University Council and the affiliated Libraries of the University. The Agreement will now be circulated to the libraries for ratification and signing.

Gazette June 2017 Page 4 of 4