GAZETTE

Date: 15 March 2017 Issued by: Professor Peter Sherlock Vice-Chancellor



This Gazette is a public document and is circulated to members of Council, members of Academic Board, Heads of Colleges, and Office of the Vice-Chancellor (OVC) Staff. It reports the outcomes of meetings of the University Council and Academic Board since the last Gazette was issued.

Summary of key activities

- A. The revised *University of Divinity Act 1910* commenced on 1 January 2017.
- B. 377 students from 11 Colleges will graduate at the Graduation ceremony in Melbourne on Friday 24 March at 7.30pm with Reverend Dr Alan Niven as the speaker.
- C. Wendy Mayer (Associate Dean of Research, Australian Lutheran College) was appointed a Professor of the University by the Council on 8 March 2017.
- D. The Annual Report 2016 incorporating the audited financial statements for 2016 was approved by the Council on 8 March 2017 for submission to the Parliament of Victoria. (The report will be available from the University website after it has been tabled in Parliament in April 2017.)

1. Regulations and Determinations

The Regulations are available at

http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/governance/the-act-and-regulations/

- 1.1 The recommendations of the Masters Course Review were implemented by the Academic Board on 17 February 2017 and the Council on 8 March 2017. Revised versions of the following Regulations and Determinations will come into effect on 1 September 2017 affecting all currently enrolled students and all students admitted for a 2018 commencement: Regulations 7, 19, 21, 24, 38, 39, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74. Detailed information on these changes and their impact will be communicated to Colleges and students in April 2017.
- 1.2 Council has authorised alumni who hold the Master of Theological Studies [MTS] to apply at no charge up until 30 September 2017 to exchange their testamurs and academic documents for the new Master of Theology (Coursework) [MTh]. Detailed information on application procedures will be provided to Colleges and alumni in April 2017.
- 1.3 The Academic Board amended the Determinations to Regulation 54 and to Regulation 3 to approve a new course of study for the Graduate Certificate in Teaching Religious Education to be delivered at Australian Lutheran College.
- 1.4 The Academic Board amended the Determinations to Regulation 3 to permit Whitley College to deliver the following awards in online mode: Diploma in Theology, Graduate Certificate in Divinity, Graduate Certificate in Theology, Graduate Diploma in Ministry Studies, Graduate Diploma in Missiology, Graduate Diploma in Pastoral Care, Graduate

Diploma in Theology, Master of Arts (Pastoral Care), Master of Arts (Theology) and Master of Theological Studies.

1.5 The Academic Board amended the Determinations to Regulation 2 to revise the terms of reference and membership of the Library Committee.

2. Policies and Procedures

Policies and Procedures may be located on the University website at

http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/governance/policies-and-procedures/

2.1 The Council approved the Research Scholarships Policy to provide for changed Commonwealth funding arrangements from 1 January 2017 and to establish Research Fee Scholarships and Research Stipend Scholarships for higher degrees by research.

3. Academic Staff

- 3.1 Hyo In Choi was accredited to deliver the unit AL0103W English for Theology.
- 3.2 Catherine Cudlipp was accredited to deliver the unit Caring for Others and Ourselves.
- 3.3 David Glenister was accredited to deliver Clinical Pastoral Education levels 1 and 2.
- 3.4 Kerrin Huth was accredited to deliver the units DE2007L Principles and Context of Lutheran Schooling, DE3012L The Practice of Lutheran Education, and DR8012L Teaching in a Lutheran Education Context.
- 3.5 Maggie Kappelhoff was accredited to deliver units in the disciplines of Systematic Theology, Spirituality and Pastoral Theology and Ministry Studies at all levels.
- 3.6 John Martin was appointed as an Honorary Research Fellow for a term concluding 31 December 2019.
- 3.7 Wendy Mayer was appointed a Professor of the University by the Council on 8 March 2017.
- 3.8 Cath McKinney was accredited to deliver the unit DS9112J/DS9113J Apostolic Leadership and Entrepreneurial Practice.
- 3.9 Fred Morgan was accredited to deliver units in the discipline of Religious Studies at all levels.
- 3.10 Daniel Murphy was accredited to deliver Clinical Pastoral Education levels 1 and 2.
- 3.11 Titus Olorunnisola was appointed as an Honorary Postdoctoral Associate for a term concluding 31 December2019.
- 3.12 Catherine Schieve was appointed as an Honorary Research Associate for a term concluding 31 December 2019.
- 3.13 Stephen Smith was accredited to deliver the units AL1003W English for Theological Studies and AL1004W Oral Communication.
- 3.14 Deborah Storie was appointed as an Honorary Postdoctoral Associate for a term concluding 31 December 2019.

3.15 Xiaoli Yang was accredited to deliver units in the disciplines of Systematic Theology to postgraduate Foundational level, and Missiology at all levels.

4. Appointments

- 4.1 Anjali Antoniotti was appointed University Secretary in the Office of the Vice-Chancellor, commencing 19 April 2019.
- 4.2 John Capper was appointed by the Governance and Nominations Committee as a member of the Committee for a term ending 31 December 2019.
- 4.3 Peter Dobson was appointed Deputy Chair of the Academic Resources Committee by the Academic Board for a term ending 31 December 2019.
- 4.4 Avril Hannah-Jones was appointed to the Grants Committee by the Council for a term ending 31 December 2019.
- 4.5 Jelena Jovanovic was appointed Finance Officer (0.6 FTE) in the Office of the Vice-Chancellor, commencing 14 March 2017.
- 4.6 Andreas Loewe was reappointed to the Council of the University by the Anglican Church for a term ending 31 December 2019.
- 4.7 John McDowell was appointed by the Strategic Planning Committee as a member of the Committee for a term ending 31 December 2019.
- 4.8 Andrew Menzies was appointed by the Strategic Planning Committee as a member of the Committee for a term ending 31 December 2019.
- 4.9 Chris Monaghan was appointed Chair of the Academic Resources Committee by the Academic Board for a term ending 31 December 2019.
- 4.10 Fotini Toso was appointed Research Development Coordinator (0.6 FTE fixed-term) in the Office of the Vice-Chancellor commencing 19 April 2019
- 4.11 Ruth Webber was appointed to the Centre for Research in Religion and Social Policy Committee by the Council for a term ending 30 June 2019.

5. Other matters

5.1 The revised *University of Divinity Act 1910* commenced on 1 January 2017. The revised Act changes the legal title of the institution from Melbourne College of Divinity to University of Divinity; changes the titles of its senior officers from President to Chancellor, Vice-President to Deputy Chancellor, and Dean to Vice-Chancellor; and instead of "recognised teaching institutions" now refers to "Colleges of the University". It clarifies the terms of appointment for members of the Council, and provides for the Chancellor and Deputy Chancellor to be appointed for terms of up to three years (previously one year).