

GAZETTE

Date: 19 May 2014

Issued by: Jeff Reaney, Director of Administration

jreaney@divinity.edu.au

This Gazette is a public document and is circulated to members of Council, members of Academic Board, Heads of Colleges, and OVC Staff. It reports the outcomes of meetings of the University Council and Academic Board since the last Gazette was issued.

Summary of key activities

- A. The United Faculty of Theology (UFT) will close at the end of 2014 and two new Colleges of the University will commence in 2015. They are the Trinity College Theological School and Pilgrim Theological College.
- B. Council has repealed three regulations governing ministry studies awards as recommended by the 2009 Ministry Studies Review.
- C. Council has appointed Professor Christiaan Mostert to the rank of Emeritus Professor.
- D. A Graduation ceremony was held on 2 May 2014 at St Patrick's Cathedral Melbourne at which 162 degrees were conferred and 118 awards were made.
- 1. Regulations and Determinations

The Regulations are available at http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/ourgovernance/the-act-and-regulations/

- 1.1 No new Regulations or changes to existing Regulations were submitted to Council at its meeting on 7 May 2014.
- 1.2 Three Regulations were repealed by Council on 7 May 2014 as the final stage in implementation of the recommendations of the 2009 Ministry Studies Review:
 - a) Regulation 6: Master of Ministry Studies
 - b) Regulation 8: Doctor of Ministry Studies (teach out to 31 December 2015)
 - c) Regulation 15: Graduate Diploma in Ministry
- 1.3 The following Determinations to Regulations were amended by Academic Board on 4 April 2014:
 - a) Determinations to Regulation 39: Master of Arts (Education and Theology)

Gazette 19 May 2014 Page 1 of 3

- b) Determinations to Regulation 43: Graduate Certificate in Leadership
- 1.4 The following Determinations to Regulations were repealed by Academic Board on 4 April 2014:
 - a) Determination 27.3.15 Graduate Certificate in Leadership, Spirituality and Organisational Practice (with effect from 1 January 2015, Determination transferred to Regulation 43)

2. Policies and Procedures

Policies and Procedures may be located on the University website at http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/our-governance/policies-and-procedures/

- 2.1 Council has approved the following policies which are now available on the University website:
 - a) Academic Documents Policy
 - b) Council Member Review Policy
- 2.2 Academic Board has approved the following policies which are now available on the University website:
 - a) Unit Policy (including a revised Unit Approval Template)
 - b) Academic Staff Development Policy

3. Appointments

- 3.1 Academic Staff
 - a) Council appointed Professor Christiaan Mostert an Emeritus Professor of the University.
 - b) Sacha Bermudez-Goldman (Sentir) has been approved to teach Foundational and Elective units in Spirituality and Spiritual Direction.
- 3.2 Honorary Appointments
 - a) Academic Board appointed Dr Gina Bernasconi as an Honorary Research Associate for a term of three years ending 31 December 2016.
 - b) Academic Board appointed Dr Anthony Rees as an Honorary Research Associate for a term of three years ending 31 December 2016.
 - c) Academic Board appointed Associate Professor Darren Cronshaw as an Honorary Research Fellow for a term of three years ending 31 December 2016.

3.3 Other Appointments

a) Academic Board has appointed Associate Professor Michael Kelly (Chair), Professor Bill Ashcroft (external), Dr Frances Baker, Professor Dorothy Lee, Professor James

Gazette 19 May 2014 Page 2 of 3

- McLaren (external), and Professor Bruce Tonge (external) as members of the Academic Promotions Panel for 2014.
- b) Pastor James Winderlich has been appointed by the Lutheran Church of Australia to succeed Bishop John Henderson as Principal of Australian Lutheran College. He is to commence in the role in the second half of 2014.
- c) Council reappointed Francis Moore to the Finance and Investment Committee for a term of two years ending 31 December 2015.
- d) Council reappointed Mr George Lopez, Dr Priscilla Robinson, Professor Fran MacInerney, and Ms Tunde Meikle to the Human Research Ethics Committee for a term of three years ending 31 December 2016.
- e) Deborah Kent and Callan Ledsham have been appointed as members of the Academic Quality and Standards Committee for a term of three years ending 31 December 2016.
- f) Rod Benson (Research) and Philip Mizzi (Coursework) were elected as student members of Academic Board for a term of one year ending 25 March 2015.
- g) Steven Tucker has been appointed as a student member of the Library and Academic Resources Committee for a term of one year ending 26 February 2015.

4. Other Business

- 4.1 Following the report and recommendations of an internal review, the United Faculty of Theology will close at the end of 2014 and two new Colleges of the University will commence in 2015. These Colleges are the Trinity College Theological School and Pilgrim Theological College, located at Trinity College and the Uniting Church Centre for Theology and Ministry in Parkville. Although the Jesuit Theological College is closing, the Jesuits remain an integral part of the University through their support for Sentir Graduate College of Spiritual Formation and the Dalton McCaughey Library.
- 4.2 Congratulations to Bishop Anba Suriel, Dean of St Athanasius Coptic Orthodox Theological College, who successfully defended his Doctoral Dissertation at Fordham University in March and graduated in May.
- 4.3 Farewell and best wishes to Bruce Tudball, who is retiring shortly as Dean of Whitley College. He will be succeeded by Dr Gary Heard.
- 4.4 Academic Board has established a Course Development Panel for a Graduate Certificate in Theological Education to report by 31 March 2015.

Gazette 19 May 2014 Page 3 of 3