GAZETTE

Date: 12 October 2018

Issued by: Anjali Antoniotti, University Secretary



This Gazette is a public document and is circulated to members of Council, members of Academic Board, University Executive, and Office of the Vice-Chancellor (OVC) Staff. It reports the outcomes of meetings of the University Council and Academic Board since the last Gazette was issued.

To view past issues of the Gazette

1. Regulations and Determinations

The Regulations are available at

http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/governance/the-act-and-regulations/

- 1.1 On 3 October 2018, Council approved the following amendments to Regulations and Determinations:
- 1.1.1 Academic Board Membership: Regulation 2.3 f) and g) have been amended to increase the membership term of student members to two years.
- 1.1.2 Academic Staff: Council has relinquished control of the Academic Staff Policy to the Academic Board. Regulation 40 has been revised to reflect this change.
- 1.2 On 14 September 2018, the Academic Board made the following amendments to Determinations to Regulations:
- 1.2.1 Student Services Committee Membership: Determination 7.1.3 of Regulation 2 has been amended to increase the membership term of student members to two years.
- 1.2.2 Course Accreditation: Determination 3.8.6 of Regulation 3 has been amended to accredit Pilgrim Theological College to teach the Master in Divinity award in classroom mode and to overseas students.
- 1.2.3 Recognised Institutions: Determination 12.6 of Regulation 2 has been amended to include the following institutions: Acharya Nagarjuna University, India; Catholic University of Zimbabwe; China Graduate School of Theology, Hong Kong; Christ University, India; Ho Chi Minh City University of Technology, Vietnam; Kristu Jayanti College, affiliated with Bangalore University, India; Our Lady of Lourdes Seminary, Philippines; Sacred Heart Seminary School of Philosophy, Bacolod City, Philippines; Paul's Seminary Institute of Theology and Centre for Philosophical Studies, India (formerly known as Christ Hall Seminary Institute of Philosophy, India); The Intercongregational Institute of Theological Formation, Mexico; Van Lang University, Vietnam.

2. Policies and Procedures

Policies and Procedures are available on the University website at http://www.divinity.edu.au/university-of-divinity/governance/policies-and-procedures/

2.1 On 3 October 2018 Council approved the following policies:

Gazette August 2018 Page 1 of 3

- 2.1.1 Academic Staff Policy: The policy governed by Council has been repealed to allow for a revised policy governed by the Academic Board.
- 2.2 On 14 September 2018 the Academic Board approved the following policies:
- 2.2.1 Academic Staff Policy: Revised policy governed by the Academic Board.
- 2.2.2 The Visiting Academics Nomination Policy: Policy repealed and provision for visiting academics included in the Academic Staff Policy.
- 2.2.3 The Offshore Study of HDR Students Policy: Policy repealed and provision made in the Regulations governing Higher Degrees by Research.
- 2.2.4 Academic Quality Policy: The key function of this new Policy is to ensure that quality processes, many of which are managed by other Policies, are undertaken and reported.
- 2.2.5 The Course Policy: Policy revised to include clearly defined pathways and to require engagement with both students and the development of course design expertise.
- 2.2.6 The Course Development Procedures and Course Review Procedures: Both procedures have been revised to reflect the principles of the Course Policy and require course review panel members to have experience or undertake training.
- 2.2.7 The Assessment Policy: Policy amended to address clarity of wording and process.
- 2.2.8 Prizes Policy: Schedule A has been amended to include The Gerald O'Collins Prize in honour of Reverend Professor Gerald O'Collins SJ AC. This prize is for an outstanding undergraduate essay in Systematic Theology.

3. Appointments

3.1 Academic Staff

- 3.1.1 Dr Carolyn Alsen has been appointed as Supervisor of a higher degree by research thesis within the University of Divinity.
- 3.1.2 Dr Cornelius Buller has been appointed Lecturer (Level B), and accredited to deliver units in the discipline of Church History (CH), at all levels within the University of Divinity.
- 3.1.3 Dr Elizabeth Byrne has been accredited to deliver units in the discipline of Pastoral Theology and Ministry Studies (DP), at all levels; units in the discipline of Systematic Theology (CT), at all levels within the University of Divinity.
- 3.1.4 Dr Robert Dixon has been reappointed Honorary Research Fellow for a term concluding 30 December 2020.
- 3.1.5 Dr Gene Green has been appointed Lecturer (Level B), and accredited to deliver units in the discipline of New Testament (BN), at all levels; units in the discipline of Mission and Ministry (DA), at all levels; units in the discipline of Pastoral Theology and Ministry Studies (DP), at all levels within the University of Divinity.
- 3.1.6 Dr Scott Kirkland has been accredited to deliver units in the discipline of Philosophy (AP), at all levels; units in the discipline of Systematic Theology (CT), at all levels within the University of Divinity.

Gazette August 2018 Page 2 of 3

- 3.1.7 Ms Susan Kmetko has been accredited to deliver units in the discipline of Biblical Languages (AL), at all levels; units in the discipline of New Testament (BN), at all levels within the University of Divinity.
- 3.1.8 Reverend Dr Jong Soo Park has been reappointed Honorary Research Associate for a term concluding 30 December 2020.
- 3.1.9 Reverend Dr Dean Spalding has been accredited to deliver units in the discipline of New Testament (BN), at all levels within the University of Divinity.

3.2 Other Appointments

- 3.2.1 Reverend Dr Robert Mitchell has been appointed to Council by the Anglican Archbishop of Melbourne in consultation with the Province of Victoria, for a term concluding 31 December 2020.
- 3.2.2 Major Deborah Robinson has been appointed Principal of Eva Burrows College from 1 January 2019. She is currently the Assistant Principal of the Sydney campus of the College.
- 3.2.3 Reverend Dr Gary Heard has been appointed as Chair of the Learning and Teaching Committee for a term concluding 31 December 2019.
- 3.2.4 Dr Merryn Ruwoldt has been appointed as Deputy Chair of the Learning and Teaching Committee for a term concluding 31 December 2020.

4. Other Matters

- 4.1 On 14 September 2018 the Academic Board approved the Registrar Role Description. This outlines the responsibilities and competencies required by University Regulations and Policies and provide a basis for position descriptions at Colleges.
- 4.2 The Chair and Deputy Chair of Examiners Role Description has been amended to enable the University to appoint at least three Deputy Chair of Examiners.
- 4.3 The Academic Board has established a working group comprising Peter Bentley, Anne Mallaby (Facilitator), Christopher Morris and Robyn Reynolds, to propose a functional definition for both Spiritual Direction (DD) and Spirituality (DS) as used by the University for courses and units.
- 4.4 Major Gregory Morgan, Principal of Eva Burrows College will conclude his service at the College at end of this year. He is taking on a new role overseas with The Salvation Army in 2019.
- 4.5 Tricia Lewis will conclude her employment as Business Manager in the Office of the Vice-Chancellor on 2 November 2018.

Gazette August 2018 Page 3 of 3